Basic Barbecue Sauce

I had leftover pork roast and wanted to make pulled pork barbecued sandwiches, but I couldn’t find a bottle of barbecue sauce in either my fridge or pantry. No problem. I made my own, and in the time it would have taken me to drive to the nearest store. 

RECIPE

BBQ Sauce

Ingredients:

1 cup catsup
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 Tbsp. brown sugar
1 Tbsp. real maple syrup
2 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
2 Tbsp. apple cider vinegar
½ tsp. smoked paprika

Directions:

Mix together in a small saucepan. Simmer over low heat for 10 minutes. Cool.

Variations: Add 1 tsp. each chili sauce, freshly grated ginger, and lemon zest for an Oriental barbecue sauce; Increase maple syrup to 2 Tbsp. for a sweeter barbecue sauce; Add 1 tsp. cumin for a southwestern smoky flavor.

Yield: 12 ounces

BBQ pulled pork sandwich

This recipe is so easy I’ll never shop for bottled sauces again!

1 Comment

Filed under condiments, Healthful Eating, sauces

One response to “Basic Barbecue Sauce

  1. Pingback: HOW I CELEBRATE MEAT-FREE MONDAY | HASTY TASTY MEALS KITCHEN

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.